Like my sister Sarah Ash, author of The Tears of Artamon series, I was born in Bath and went to school there. I studied English at King’s College Cambridge.
With time as a Kibbutz volunteer in Israel, travelling home via Greece and Turkey, my travels have included a trip to Poland with the Cambridge Esperanto Group, time volunteering in Swaziland with IVS, and two workcamps, helping Buddhist monks build the Peace Pagoda in Milton Keynes, and restoring the village church in Charols, France.
It was on the French workcamp in 1980 that I came across la Garde Adhemar and Eyzahut, places that appear in the shamanworld.
After university, I trained as a lawyer and lived in Stoke Newington. I worked as a solicitor until 1998, when I chose to write full time.
I am of mixed Jewish, Irish, German and English heritage. I am interested in religion and psychology, folklore, myth and ritual, and all things arcane and weird. My ancestry is important to me and is reflected in my stories, which are eclectic and diverse.


Children of the Shaman was first published in 2001 by Orbit Books and shortlisted for the Locus Magazine Best First Novel Award; The Glass Mountain followed in 2002. Both were translated into German by Marianne Schmidt, and published by Blanvalet as Die Eisgoettin and Der Glaserne Berg. Roc, part of Penguin Puttnam, published Children of the Shaman in the States.

Along with this blog, I help Cora Buhlert with the Speculative Fiction Showcase. The blog features a weekly round up of links compiled by Cora from all over the web, new releases, and interviews with Speculative Fiction authors from the indie and small press world. We feature occasional guest blogs. We welcome submissions!
I am also a contributor to Cora’s Crime Fiction blog, The Indie Crime Scene.
Updates on my blog or my Facebook author page, or you can follow me on Twitter @razumova.


3 thoughts on “About”

Leave a Reply to jessicarydill Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.